St. Jane Frances

July 24, 2009

Last school year my daughter attended the St. Jane Frances School.  She was constantly bullied by one girl all year long.  Her teacher tried to handle things and I believe whole heartily that she did everything in her power to stop the madness.  The bully was always hitting, kicking, or tormenting my daughter in some way.  In November I finally dragged myself into the school to speak with the principal.  To get in touch with her I had to run into her in the parking lot and explain what was going on.  I thought things were taken care of because that is what the principal said she was going to do.  Unfortunately for my daughter she didn’t do anything and the bullying continuted.  Over Memorial Day weekend my daughter informed me that the bully told her that she was going to get her cousins gun and shoot her.  I was furious as any parent would be.  I went to the school immeadiatley on Tuesday when the school reopened and demand to speak with one of the principals.  Of course they were “very” busy and weren’t available.  I was told to send an email and they would get back to me.  They never did.  My sister called and tried to get a hold of one of them, and they still weren’t available.  We called the Archdiocse of Baltimore, they didn’t help, I put an article in the local newspaper, and still no response or call from the school.

Yesterday I went down to the school to officially withdraw my daughter, and found out from one of the secretaries that the principals said that they contacted all parties involved and the situation was under control.  I have never recieved a call, email or anything else of that nature from school officials.

I wonder why people can’t own up to messing up and dropping the ball, instead of not telling the truth.  I believe that my daughters life could have been in danger, but because they were only 2nd graders, no one took the threat seriously.  Whether or not the girl could of actually got a gun and came to school and shot her is a mute point.  The threat was made and I should have been notified at the very least.

Why pay $4000 in tuition for my daughter to be unsafe?